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: , owner of the dwelling located at:
(print property owner’s name)

(print dwelling address)

verify that the smoke and carbon monoxide (CO) alarms required by the California Residential Code (CRC) have
been installed in the dwelling, in compliance with the CRC and with the manufacturer's instructions and further
that they have been tested and do function properly. These alarms enhance life safety within dwellings. CRC
Section R314 and R315 require the retrofit of these alarms in existing dwellings when alterations, repairs or
additions requiring a permit with a valuation exceeding $1,000 are made. Generally, the alarms must be hard
wired (110 volt) with battery back-up and all alarms are to be interconnected. If the installation of the alarms will
require the removal of wall or ceiling finishes or there is no access by means of attic, basement or crawl space,
then alarms may be solely battery operated and not interconnected but such battery-only type smoke alarms must
be equipped with a 10 year battery and have a silence feature. Alarms must be installed in all of the following
locations within the existing dwelling and must be no more than 10 years old (from the date of manufacture as
marked on the unit — units without a date of manufacture identified must be replaced):

# |n all bedrooms (only require Smoke Alarms)
Immediately outside of each separate bedroom. (require both Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarms)

# |n each story level, including basements and habitable attics (require both Smoke and Carbon Monoxide
Alarms)

In addition, | (the property owner) also verify that all plumbing fixtures within the dwelling unit are in compliance
with the applicable retrofit provisions of the California Green Building Standards Code section 301.1.1 and
California Civil Code Section 1101, which requires that the following fixtures do not exceed the flow rates stated:

Toilets — not more than 1.6 gallon of water per flush

Urinals — not more than 1 gallon of water per flush
Showerheads — not more than 2.5 gallons of water per minute
Faucets — not more than 2.2 gallons of water per minute

| have read and understand the above requirements and affirm by my signature, that all required Alarms
and Fixtures mentioned above have been properly installed and tested.

Signature of Property Owner Date

ATTENTION PROPERTY OWNER
This is a voluntary self-certification verification procedure. If you prefer a Building Inspector to
perform the verification, you must arrange to have an adult present at the time of inspection and
provide access to all alarms and plumbing fixtures.




